TED Thursday: Creating with Joy

Every Thursday I will be choosing and posting a TED Talk that I think should be shared with you. I will not go at length about the benefits of it; they speak for themselves! Instead, I will provide you with the quick presentation blurb for it from TED Talk. You take it from here! This week, the TED Talk I choose to share with you is:

Your elusive creative genius 
with Elizabeth Gilbert

“Elizabeth Gilbert muses on the impossible things we expect from artists and geniuses — and shares the radical idea that, instead of the rare person “being” a genius, all of us “have” a genius. It’s a funny, personal and surprisingly moving talk.

I really liked her talk; it was quite illuminating and it was indeed funny, more that I would have expected it would be. I guess you can say that she did put me at ease while tackling a subject that could have cause me some angst.  The expectations we put on ourselves when we are a “creative type” can be paralyzing. On the page of this TED Talk, Elizabeth Gilbert has a call to action that really spoke to me. She says:

“Creators should fight against the pull of Romanticism in their work and reject the notion that the artistic life must be one of suffering and torment. I encourage makers to recognize that when you pull your ego out of the game, your work can become a series of joyful collaborations (between artist and mystery, between artist and peers, between artist and audience). The important thing is to take responsibility for continuing to show up for your side of the bargain.”

I was interested in her most recent book: “Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear“. But as I was about to watch the talk, I saw that she is the also the author of the acclaimed “Eat, Pray, Love“… I guess I’m gonna have a lot of reading to do! Check out her official website.

 

One thought on “TED Thursday: Creating with Joy

Leave a Reply

