Avery On: Blogtober 2019

            Okay, so I only vaguely had any clue as to what the structure of Blogtober (as a community event) was supposed to be. I became aware of it through my friend Liz of Anxiety And Liz.

            I decided to take up the challenge of writing a post daily on a whim, and with a sense that participating would be a great way to strengthen my writing habits. It’s been a tremendously rewarding experience, and a great jump-start towards creating on a regular basis. The act of writing has never been the hard part for me, no it’s the sitting, getting my butt to stay in one place and not submit to distraction.

            I have really invested in my creativity this month and as a result been more dedicated to you my dear reader. There is little to the relationship between author and reader without content, and it’s been a distinct pleasure to be creating on a daily basis. Navigating creation each day has meant figuring out when I can write, and more importantly when posts need to be up. I left myself a window each day between 10:30am and 2:30pm to get posts up, and for the most part this has worked very well.

            There have been missteps along the way, and I have adjusted as each problem presented itself. Weekend posts were the first challenge as generally I try allow for some downtime each week, so how to post on weekends? The solution was to create micro stories. Avery’s Fantastical Tales has been a great outlet, and a way to exercise a very different set of creative muscles.

            Going forward into November I will continue the current writing schedule and begin work on my next writing project. I don’t have the safety net of work that has been sitting in a box this time around. I have to start from a nearly blank slate. It’s not a completely fresh start to a new project as I am working on the sequels to deadbeats.

            I am writing the next books out of order, next up is the third book in the trilogy and early 2020 I will begin work on the middle book. Together these three books make up the Working Life Trilogy. Each book is connected with major characters becoming minor characters in the other novels. The plots do not intertwine, and share a central theme of looking at people in the working environment. Where deadbeats explored unemployment and the beginning stages of career, book two will look at working in a co-operative environment. Book three examines people working at the top of their game. I can’t wait to tell you more, but alas I must hold off a while longer. I want to hold on to the feeling of these stories burning inside of me before I set them free.

            So to you dear reader I give a heartfelt thank you, it’s been a great month of creativity and I look forward to continuing this journey with you.

Thank you for being here, Be Kind & Do No Harm.

            J. Avery Cain  



















All rights reserved “©” 2019 Brian Nathan Schwartz (This is my “deadname” and is included here only for legal purposes.)

2 thoughts on “Avery On: Blogtober 2019

    1. When I started the month, I had such trepidation. I had been away since April and felt so guilty. I pushed through though encouraged because I knew you were doing it as well and it felt like an important thing to challenge myself with. I can’t thank you enough for making me aware of it. It gave me that chance to come back and start again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.